Tripe + Drisheen
Arts + Culture
Eoin Ó Riabhaigh at 3 Rivers Rising Festival
0:00
-36:49

Eoin Ó Riabhaigh at 3 Rivers Rising Festival

Uilleann piper and pipe maker Eoin Ó Riabhaigh on how he got the nickname Rabies, ambitions to record in Nashville, and the slightly grisly tale of Canon Goodman's pipes, which Eoin has to this day.

Click play above to listen to Eoin Ó Riabhaigh live in conversation with Ellie O’Byrne.

“My favourite is playing in the corner of the pub, with no gear, no pressure, no nothing. My second favourite would be a studio. I love studios; I think there’s a really creative thing happening in there. My least favourite would be a stage. Playing for my public doesn’t do it for me at all…I hate being the front guy, you know? The responsibility of it.”

Eoin Ó Riabhaigh in conversation in Henchy’s at 3 Rivers Rising Festival. Photo: Kieran Murphy

Recorded in Henchy’s in St Luke’s Cross, this live podcast was made possible with the assistance of Joe Kelly of The Good Room. It was recorded as part of The Good Room’s 3 Rivers Rising folk festival, which was held in St Luke’s from 10-12 of June with support from Cork City Council.

Tripe + Drisheen is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Share

0 Comments
Tripe + Drisheen
Arts + Culture
Your weekly Saturday fix of culture in a mix of podcast and print format: music, books, art, theatre, dance, film and more.